Primary Zelda Hacking

Oracles Hacking => Progress => Topic started by: Lin on January 12, 2011, 10:45:05 PM



Title: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 12, 2011, 10:45:05 PM
Currently, I'm working on adding a tileset editor to ZOLE. It will feature 100% raw tiles and tileset configuration, meaning you can make tilesets exactly how you want them. It will take some time though.

EDIT: Making great progress. The game now supports loading of 100% custom tiles. Currently, the tileset editor displays things perfectly (except the main tileset). Next I need to write the harder portion of the assembly: loading raw tileset configuration.

(http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/2913/zole29.png)

~Lin


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Fatories on January 13, 2011, 07:32:27 PM
I do indeed like this Lin :D:D:D


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 17, 2011, 09:53:27 PM
Bad news. The game isn't happy with what I'm doing so it's posing several problems. I'm going to recode all the assembly I've written so far. Hopefully the problems get fixed.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 18, 2011, 12:01:10 AM
Good news! Palette loading for custom tilesets is fixed and now I just have to make better management of custom tilesets during screen transitioning. All going well. :D


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 18, 2011, 04:47:35 AM
Okay, so scratch everything I said earlier. I deleted all the code I've written so far because I'm going to approach this another way. The ROM has been expanded to the largest size of 4 MB and all of the tiles are decompressed upon ROM open. Why? Because it simply was just too frustrating getting things to match properly, especially with transitioning. 103 decompressed tiles (current amount of areas) take up a lot of space and not enough would be left over for tileset configuration data. The next biggest size was 7 MB, so I went with it. On a good note, a lot of space is getting saved in the first bank and things are going to be easier down the road.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 18, 2011, 08:34:01 AM
Great news! I have finished full decompressed tile loading, for full warping and scrolling. However, sometimes the tiles appear glitched, so I need to find out why. That's for tomorrow.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 18, 2011, 09:21:34 AM
Better news! I sacrificed 30 minutes of sleep to get it working 100%. There are no more bugs as far as I know and the tileset editor will resume progress tomorrow. :D


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 19, 2011, 01:30:10 AM
All of the assembly for loading fully decompressed stuff is done. The rest is ZOLE-sided, and should be simple. I'm not feeling well tonight so it might have to get finished tomorrow.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 19, 2011, 11:34:32 PM
Okay... Good news: I have fixed all the bugs I've found, which included some tiles not properly loading and collisions not being loaded. These are fixed and I've tested thoroughly. Not a single bug. ZOLE also loads these new tilesets, so all that's left is the work on the tileset editor. :D


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 20, 2011, 02:44:05 AM
Released!!!!


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 20, 2011, 05:28:58 PM
There's a bug.  First of all, you can only access the tileset editor from the icons in the editor.  If you try to select it from the Tools menus, it doesn't work.  Second of all, when the tileset editor loads, the graphics and the cursor are not aligned properly.  That is to say the tiles are blow up, but the cursor select map is still small.  Not only are the cursors out of alignment, but you think you are clicking on a tile, and it's a different tile.  Also the tiles at the bottom arn't clickable, and to click them you have to click on the tiles way above them.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 20, 2011, 10:03:13 PM
There's a bug.  First of all, you can only access the tileset editor from the icons in the editor.  If you try to select it from the Tools menus, it doesn't work.  Second of all, when the tileset editor loads, the graphics and the cursor are not aligned properly.  That is to say the tiles are blow up, but the cursor select map is still small.  Not only are the cursors out of alignment, but you think you are clicking on a tile, and it's a different tile.  Also the tiles at the bottom arn't clickable, and to click them you have to click on the tiles way above them.
Everything works fine for me. It's your computer and it's not likely I can do anything about it. Except for the button only working on the icon. That's my fault.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 21, 2011, 02:17:07 AM
There's a bug.  First of all, you can only access the tileset editor from the icons in the editor.  If you try to select it from the Tools menus, it doesn't work.  Second of all, when the tileset editor loads, the graphics and the cursor are not aligned properly.  That is to say the tiles are blow up, but the cursor select map is still small.  Not only are the cursors out of alignment, but you think you are clicking on a tile, and it's a different tile.  Also the tiles at the bottom arn't clickable, and to click them you have to click on the tiles way above them.
Everything works fine for me. It's your computer and it's not likely I can do anything about it. Except for the button only working on the icon. That's my fault.

Is it the resolution?  I can't understand how come the entire table of tiles are stretched, yet the clicking map is not stretched as well?  Is there a way to make the tiles smaller so they line up properly?  Heck, do the tiles even look stretched on your end?


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 21, 2011, 02:57:59 AM
Yes, all the stretching is intentional. That's to make editing easier. Even with things stretched, everything else should be aligned properly.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 21, 2011, 05:25:44 AM
But it's not.  Does it have anything to do with Windows 2000?


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 21, 2011, 05:31:56 AM
It shouldn't. I use XP and have used the Classic and Luna theme and they both work fine. We also use the same .NET Framework, so it should be good. Here's what the window should look like (this one's missing the undo/redo):

(http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/6101/zole30.png)

Would you mind showing me what yours looks like?


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 21, 2011, 05:53:06 PM
I can't show a picture becuase I don't know how to take a picture of my desktop(I am dumb), but I can tell you that the problem is that the stretching for is right, but for mine, the tile dimentions don't match the cursor selector.  The imaged is stretched too much.  For example, if we take the upper row of tiles, and the upper part of them.  The first tile piece in the upper left corner is right.  However, just to the right of that, the cursor looks fine because it's a solid colour.  Next to that though, and you see that while the editor is selecting the right(the green) tile, the tileset actually shows that it's part yellow tile and part green tile.  That means the stretch is about 8 pixels too much, and also about 8 pixels too much below as well.  This means that all tiles are stretched too far, and the graphics don't match the selection.  Furthermore, the entire right side and bottom of the tileset are not selectable because they've been stretched too far by those extra pixels.  It might be my screen resolution, but I cannot change my resolution just to fiddle with ZOLE.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 21, 2011, 06:27:37 PM
I messed with the resolution and still have the problem.  I even put it on the highest resolution it can go(which makes using the computer kind of difficult for me) and it still had the problem.  Perhaps it's possible that your display is different because you are using a different monitor, or otherwise could be the monitor settings.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 21, 2011, 10:07:01 PM
It has nothing to do with the monitor. The pixels are stretched based on the existing pixels, and all of it is done with math - none involving the monitor's resolution. The selection and hover box also involve math and just detect the cursor's position. If it works in the other things in ZOLE, like the map picture box, it should work fine. I really don't know what the issue is.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 22, 2011, 06:34:27 AM
Well untill I can show you a pic, I guess I really can't do much.  BTW, should the tileset editor take up the entire width of the screen when opened?


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 22, 2011, 06:56:39 AM
Well, it is a pretty big window. THAT would be your resolution's fault - the window is normal sized but it's very large (probably over 800x512). And yes, a pic would be good (print screen + paste into paint, save, upload as an attachment here).


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 22, 2011, 04:45:57 PM
Here:


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 22, 2011, 10:30:06 PM
Okay I MIGHT know the problem... On your desktop, right click and click Properties > Settings > Advanced > General > Make sure the DPI Setting is normal size. From the looks of it, you had the same alignment problems with ZOLE in the first place.

But I think what's really happening is the picture box containing the tileset is not the right size - nor are any of the other pictureboxes. The items are being creates too big and that's what's throwing the alignments off. I just can't tell you what's causing it or how to fix it... Very odd... I've never had it happen to me before.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 22, 2011, 10:47:11 PM
Well I'm using large fonts(I do have some vision problems so things are a bit larger), but I also can't switch back to normal fonts since it was never installed.  I guess I'm stuck being unable to edit tiles untill I get a new computer or somthing.  I think I'm using 120 dpi currently.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 22, 2011, 11:09:45 PM
I think I'm using 120 dpi currently.
That's probably your problem. Try switching it to 96 DPI as I stated above, and decrease the font size (All temporarily) and see if this fixes the problem.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 22, 2011, 11:48:22 PM
I think I'm using 120 dpi currently.
That's probably your problem. Try switching it to 96 DPI as I stated above, and decrease the font size (All temporarily) and see if this fixes the problem.

I'm unable to.  My copy of Windows 2000 isn't exactly fresh, and as a result, some things are missing.  That is to say I don't actually have access to smaller fonts.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 23, 2011, 12:18:31 AM
Oh. That's unfortunate. But yea, the cause is something on your computer is causing the pictureboxes to be bigger, and everything in the tileset editor (except the tile your editing) gets scaled to the picturebox's size, thus causing problems. Sorry that happens. I'll add an option in a future version of ZOLE to disable stretching.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 23, 2011, 12:23:54 AM
Okay good news and bad news.  The good news is that I fixed the problem and the tileset editor is working perfectly now.  Bad news is that the rest of the computer's font is uncomfortably small for me so it appears the only way for me to use the tileset editor is to switch back and forth between font sizes.  That is unless I can somehow tell ZOLE to run at a smaller font size than what I currently have selected.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 23, 2011, 12:32:05 AM
That sucks. I think I do know how to disable it though. I can set the AutoScapeProperty to false, and apparently that ignore's all DPI settings and draws with 96, which is 1:1 (DPI means dots per inch). So starting ZOLE 4 version 1.14.7, or 1.15, you shouldn't see scaling issues at all.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 26, 2011, 05:30:21 PM
That's odd.  I thought when I started up 1.15 it worked, but now it's not.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Lin on January 27, 2011, 02:08:43 PM
So does it work or not? If not, then there's nothing I can do about it and you're going to have to fix it yourself.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on January 27, 2011, 04:59:55 PM
It appears as if it didn't do anything.  I guess my only choice is to fiddle with the fonts whenever I want to edit some tiles.  That sucks too because I could have sworn it was working.  Thanks for trying at least.


Title: Re: Tileset Editor
Post by: Jigglysaint on February 05, 2011, 08:57:37 PM
Just letting you know that I changed my dpi to 115%, and that's the highest I can set it that lets me display the tileset editor properly.  I'll have to made do with slightly smaller text.