Primary Zelda Hacking
April 21, 2014, 09:26:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The website has switched hosts and now has the domain zeldahacking.net!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Making Chests Give Any Weapon using ZOCF  (Read 1849 times)
Lin
ZOLE Creator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 580



View Profile
« on: June 26, 2010, 06:19:51 AM »

The purpose of this tutorial is to make it so we can make any weapon (Or item, really, but I haven't experimented with that) we choose. By default, we can only do this with a couple.

Tutorial

So, I bet you're wondering how to know what chest ID gives what weapon. Well, first off, the first 2 digits (Or byte, or even 1 digit) is the weapon ID. To find out the weapon ID, use This List.

The next digits, or byte, is the weapon level. 00 is Level 1, 01 is Level 2, 02 is Level 3, and so on and so forth.

Next, visit This Topic. Download the program and read how to use it.

So the nearing final step is to gather the ID of the chest, or weapon/level. Open the program and enter the ID and hit enter, and you'll see a bunch of information. Type "y" and hit Enter.

Now last, re-open your ROM in ZOLE and go to the map that shall give the item you want. Open the chest editor (And make sure it has chest data. If it doesn't, swap it with another map) and enter the ID we gathered before, and hit OK. Save and open your ROM, and voila!

Example

Here's an example to make a chest give a Level 1 Sword.

Step 1: According to our weapon list, the ID of a sword is 05. So, we know the first 2 digits, or first byte, of our ID are going to be 05. Next, the level of the sword will be Level 1, so the next byte is 00. This makes our complete ID 0500.

Step 2: Open ZOCF and make sure it loads our ROM. Type 500 and hit enter. Next, hit 'y' and hit Enter again.

Step 3: Re-open our ROM in ZOLE and go to the map with the chest. Open the Chest Editor, and make sure there is chest data and the YX matches our chest. Next, for the ID, we enter 500 and click OK. Once we save and open our ROM, we'll find something like this.



Magic, isn't it? But that's all. Hopefully you understand it!

~Lin
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 10:06:33 PM by Lin » Logged
Fatories
LALE Creator
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 223



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 02:57:06 PM »

So say I wanted a chest with the seed satchel like in your YouTube video, I would just use the ID 1900? Also what would happen if I made the seed satchel level 2 or 3?
Logged

The force of a true man can penetrate all. Nothing is safe.
Lin
ZOLE Creator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 580



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2010, 07:47:21 PM »

Yes, you'd use 1900. I'm not sure what would come of a level 2, 3, or even 4 seed satchel though. That's something you're gonna have to try on your own!
Logged
Jigglysaint
Hacking Guru
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 150


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2010, 08:30:16 PM »

01 is the first seed upgrade, and 02 is the second seed upgrade.  I think how it works is since you can't skip upgrades, the first time you get it, it goes into your inventory.  The second time you get the item, it increaes it's level by 1, and so forth.  Since it's the same graphics, all it would need to do is make a check to see if you have it or not to make it upgrade.
Logged
Fatories
LALE Creator
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 223



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2010, 08:59:29 PM »

I'm confused when you say upgrade because when you get the seed satchel you start off with ember seeds. Would upgrading it to level 1 make it so you have both ember and mystery seeds? (thats the second seed you get)
Logged

The force of a true man can penetrate all. Nothing is safe.
Lin
ZOLE Creator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 580



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2010, 09:13:37 PM »

Well, to end all this, I made a chest give the seed satchel "level 2". What it actually is is receiving it from the island thing (Tokyo?), so rather than being an upgrade it's just how you receive it.
Logged
Jigglysaint
Hacking Guru
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 150


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2010, 09:56:54 PM »

When I am talking "level", I mean the second byte in the group, not the second index for the actual item.  That is, I found the value that gives you the seeds when you talk to the Maku Tree, then I changed it's second value and at 02, it gave me the capacity for 99 seeds(plus 20 ember seeds, but that must be code related).

Oh and I also found the sprite pointers.
Logged
Fatories
LALE Creator
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 223



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2010, 10:57:08 PM »

Well, to end all this, I made a chest give the seed satchel "level 2". What it actually is is receiving it from the island thing (Tokyo?), so rather than being an upgrade it's just how you receive it.


Lol, so much for me having to figure this out on my own XD

When I am talking "level", I mean the second byte in the group, not the second index for the actual item.  That is, I found the value that gives you the seeds when you talk to the Maku Tree, then I changed it's second value and at 02, it gave me the capacity for 99 seeds(plus 20 ember seeds, but that must be code related).

Oh and I also found the sprite pointers.

Dang that ruins my hopes for having the player get a different type of seed to start off with rather then ember seeds.
Logged

The force of a true man can penetrate all. Nothing is safe.
Jigglysaint
Hacking Guru
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 150


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2010, 11:04:02 PM »

No it doesn't.  I just haven't found that data yet.  First though, going to code a new interaction to see if I can make multi level sideview dungeons.  Curently, the game only lets you go up or down if you are on a ladder.
Logged
Lin
ZOLE Creator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 580



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2010, 11:04:56 PM »

Actually, it's possible and probably not very hard. You just have to find where the selected seed is stored in the memory (Probably C6xx) and find what writes to it. And, the best part is the seeds can be obtained in any order and still work the proper way. If you want, I'll try find what sets the default seed and then make a tutorial on how to change it.
Logged
Fatories
LALE Creator
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 223



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2010, 11:16:25 PM »

That'd be awesome, and a great help because I've been thinking up a plan for a hack I'm going to make and I don't want the ember seeds to be gotten first. I'm also not the best with codes and scripts so unless it is obvious on how to change, I probably wouldn't figure it out.
Logged

The force of a true man can penetrate all. Nothing is safe.
Lin
ZOLE Creator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 580



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2010, 11:28:47 PM »

Alright, well I found the values that control what seeds you have and what seeds you have equipped (For both satchel and shooter), so all I need to do is write an ASM script that sets the default value for the seeds you have.
Logged
Jigglysaint
Hacking Guru
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 150


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2010, 12:35:12 AM »

I also altered sprite 2B so that it's presence(F6 control code) will let you fall down to the screen below in a sideview area instead of catching you at the bottom.  Right now I'm not working on any hacks untill the fixed version comes out, but things are going to be sweet!
Logged
Lin
ZOLE Creator
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 580



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2010, 12:54:20 AM »

I also altered sprite 2B so that it's presence(F6 control code) will let you fall down to the screen below in a sideview area instead of catching you at the bottom.  Right now I'm not working on any hacks untill the fixed version comes out, but things are going to be sweet!
I PMed you the latest build, which has the breaking events fixed, the script detector fixed, and other bugs fixed. If you don't find anything wrong with that build I'm going to release it.
Logged
SquallTheGamer
Newcomer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2010, 10:51:24 AM »

I had a problem with this tool. It work, but when I exited the screen and went back, the chest duplicated above the original chest and I could re-open the chest. I'd show you a image but I don't have any of it.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!